Katie Carver | Beau Soleil College Alpin International

Sorry but this form will not work without cookies enabled. Please adjust your browser settings to enable cookies to continue. For more information on how to do this please see our.

Beau Soleil Crest Beau Soleil Crest and Logo Text

Katie Carver

Housemistress - Tam

After graduating with an MA in English and German Language and Literature from Hamburg University, I took part in an expedition with the British Army in Kenya, worked as an English teacher in Nairobi, and was a Project Leader for Raleigh International in Namibia. I went on to work for a school expedition company in the UK for 8 years, planning, overseeing and leading expeditions for students all over the world. Since then, I have worked in the travel industry, specialising in Africa and Latin America, and I also taught English in a bilingual Montessori School in Guatemala. For the last two years, I have been an English and German teacher, as well as the Round Square Representative, at a German boarding school in Bavaria. I moved to Beau Soleil with my husband and two daughters in August 2016 and took on a houseparent role in Beau Soleil Girls. I also teach German and I am the Round Square Representative.

Being a houseparent is like having a huge extended family, which I love.

Getting to know the girls and supporting them is not only a great responsibility but also a privilege. Life in a boarding house is great fun, every day is full of surprises and no two days are the same!

I love the outdoors. I am a passionate skier, enjoy running and can't get enough of exploring and travelling. Living here in Villars, with so many opportunities on my doorstep is incredibly exciting. I count myself extremely lucky to be living in such a beautiful spot.

 

Challenges are what make life interesting and overcoming them is what makes life meaningful.

Katie Carver | Beau Soleil | Nord Anglia Education
Beau Soleil Crest Beau Soleil Crest and Logo Text

Katie Carver

Housemistress - Tam

Après avoir obtenu une maîtrise en Anglais ainsi qu’en Langue et Littérature Allemandes à l'Université de Hambourg, j'ai rejoint une expédition de l'armée britannique au Kenya, travaillé ensuite comme professeure d’anglais à Nairobi et j’ai également été Cheffe de Projet à « Raleigh International » en Namibie. Pendant huit ans, j’ai travaillé pour une entreprise spécialisée dans les excursions scolaires au Royaume-Uni, m’occupant de la planification, la supervision et menant des excursions pour des étudiants du monde entier. Depuis, j’ai travaillé dans l'industrie du tourisme, spécialisée dans les voyages en Afrique et en Amérique latine et j’ai enseigné l’anglais dans une école Montessori bilingue au Guatemala. Au cours des deux dernières années, j’ai enseigné l’anglais et allemand tout en étant la représentante de l’organisation Round Square dans un internat allemand en Bavière. Je suis arrivée à Beau Soleil avec mon mari et mes deux filles en août 2016. J’occupe la fonction de Maîtresse d’Internat de la Maison Beau Soleil. J’enseigne l'allemand et je suis également la représentante de Beau Soleil auprès de l’organisation Round Square. 

Être une Maîtresse d’Internat est comparable à avoir une grande famille élargie, ce que j’affectionne particulièrement.

Apprendre à connaître les filles et les soutenir est non seulement une grande responsabilité, mais également un privilège. La vie dans une maison de pension est très amusante, chaque journée est remplie de surprises et il n’y a pas deux jours qui se ressemblent !

J'aime le plein air. Je suis une skieuse passionnée, j’aime courir et ne me lasse jamais assez d'explorer et voyager. Vivre ici à Villars, avec autant de possibilités à disposition est simplement incroyable. Je me considère extrêmement chanceuse de vivre dans un si bel endroit.